West Indies announced their 15-member squad for the forthcoming ICC Cricket World Cup on Wednesday. The cricket world cup is set to commence from May 30th onwards in England and Wales. Andre Russel has deservingly sealed a place in the squad along with Chris Gayle, who will be playing his fifth World Cup. Other big names included the likes of Darren Bravo, Shai Hope and Kemar Roach in the Jason Holder-led Windies team. Also Read - IND vs ENG: Axar Patel Becomes First India Spinner to Pick up Five-Wicket Haul in Pink-Ball Test, Joins Mohammad Nissar, Narendra Hirwani in Coveted List

Russell has been in prime form for Kolkata Knight Riders in the IPL and has so far singlehandedly won four games for his franchise. However, Kieron Pollard of Mumbai Indians and Sunil Narine of KKR have not picked in the squad. Also Read - Amit Shah Wants Cheteshwar Pujara to Score Double Century And Help India Beat England in Pink-Ball Test at Narendra Modi Stadium

All eyes will be on the 40-year-old Chris Gayle who will wear the West Indies jersey one last time. Also Read - PSL 2021: Chris Gayle, Rashid Khan Return Home For National Duty After Playing Two Matches Each

His opening partner will be Evin Lewis and the talented duo of Shai Hope and Shimron Hetmyer are in the squad.

Injured Alzarri Joseph has not been picked and the pace attack will be led by veteran Kemar Roach.

The squad was chosed by Robert Haynes, along with Jimmy Adams and West Indies’ coach Floyd Reifer.

Robert said: “The selection panel looked at the skill set of the players and the combinations. We have looked at the wickets that have been used in England in the past, players fitness and their urge to represent West Indies. We came up with a balanced team who will represent West Indies in England.”

West Indies Squad for World Cup: Jason Holder (capt), Andre Russell, Ashley Nurse, Carlos Brathwaite, Chris Gayle, Darren Bravo, Evin Lewis, Fabian Allen, Kemar Roach, Nicholas Pooran (wk), Oshane Thomas, Shai Hope, Shannon Gabriel, Sheldon Cottrell, Shimron Hetmyer.

(With IANS Inputs)