West Indies Tour of India: Once world beaters, now West Indies is considered equivalent to Zimbabwe and Bangladesh. Their cricket has been on the downslide for quite some time now as they get ready to lock horns with a formidable Indian team in their backyard for a two-Test series. Jason Holder’s team will look to break a 24-year-old unwanted record against Virat Kohli’s men. The Windies team has not won a single Test on Indian soil since 1994. They last won a Test in Mohali by 243 runs to draw the series 1-1. That team comprised of stalwarts like Brian Lara, Courtney Walsh, Carl Hooper, Jimmy Adams among others.

But that was long back since they have toured India on many occasions but have been unable to beat India ever. Since that win, Windies have played 8 Test matches in India, losing 6 and drawing two matches. managing to draw 2. This also happens to be the third longest duration for a top 8 team to be without a Test win on Indian soil.

The Kiwis are without a win in India since November 1988 and the Lankans, who played their first Test in India in 1982, are yet to register a win on Indian soil. It will not be an easy task by any stretch of imagination for Holder and Co.

Meanwhile, the first Test starts on October 4.


Virat Kohli (captain), KL Rahul, Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vc), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur.

West Indies:

Kieran Powell, Kraigg Brathwaite, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Roston Chase, Jahmar Hamilton, Shai Hope, Shane Dowrich, Sunil Ambris, Devendra Bishoo, Jomel Warrican, Keemo Paul, Kemar Roach, Shannon Gabriel, Sherman Lewis