On Monday, Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) chief selector – MSK Prasad and its acting secretary Amitabh Choudhary announced India’s 15-member squad for the ICC World Cup 2019, scheduled to be played in England and Wales. While skipper Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, MS Dhoni, Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami and Jasprit Bumrah picked themselves on the back of some consistent show in recent times, there were three main areas of concern that the selectors needed to take a call on.

The most debated selection was for the much-hyped ‘number four’ slot, selectors had to make a call between Ambati Rayudu or Vijay Shankar. Rayudu’s string of failures in recent times and his ordinary IPL performance did no good for him as the latter makes the cut for the London-bound flight. Also, Shankar has continued to bat at number three or four in this edition of the IPL for the Sunrisers Hyderabad and has come up with decent showings so far. It can also be seen as another hint that the team management had asked him to settled down to the idea of batting at the top.

Here’s how the Twitter world reacts to Rayudu’s exclusion from the India squad for WC’19:


Dinesh Karthik has beaten Rishabh Pant in the race to become the second wicket-keeper in the Indian team for the upcoming World Cup. Apart from Karthik and Shankar, Ravindra Jadeja has been picked as the third spinner ahead of a fourth pacer. KL Rahul joins the group as the back-up opener.

After announcing the squad, MSK Prasad addressed the press, answering all questions regarding the spots that were up for grabs. He justified the inclusions as well as the unfortunate exclusions. “Well, it’s definitely a case where we have debated at length and all of us, in unison, felt that either Rishabh Pant or DK will only come into the playing XI if Mahi (MS Dhoni) is injured,” said MSK Prasad on the criteria for selecting the reserve wicketkeeper.

Squad: Virat Kohli (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), KL Rahul, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wk), Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Vijay Shankar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Dinesh Karthik, Ravindra Jadeja.