New Delhi: Facebook has has introduced a new feature to unsend messages from Messenger inbox. This special feature in Facebook Messenger will be available for both Android and iOS users in Poland, Bolivia, Colombia, and Lithuania. Also Read - COVID-19: 70% More People Using Facebook Messenger For Group Video Calls, Says Report

The ‘Remove for Everyone’ feature will be soon rolled out globally, a Facebook spokesperson reportedly told TechCrunch. This feature is applicable within 10 minutes of sending a text message, video, or photo. The message can be deleted in a short span of time in group chats also. Also Read - Researchers Find Malware Which Steals Social Media Cookies



When the 10-minute time span exceeds, the ‘Remove for Everyone’ feature is no more available. Instead, the ‘Remove for you’ feature will appear, according to which only messages from the sender’s end can be deleted and not from the recipient’s end. Also Read - Facebook Messenger to Stop Using Chatbots, Also Removes Discover Tab

Follow the steps below to use the ‘unsend’ feature:



Step 1: Long press the message that you intend to delete.
Step 2: Two options will pop up on your screen. They are ‘Remove for Everyone’ and Remove for You’.
Step 3: Select any one option.
Step 4: Now a warning will be displayed on the screen that reads, “You’ll permanently remove this message for all chat members. They can see that you removed a message and still report it.”
Step 5: After reading the warning, click confirm, to delete the message. Now a message will be displayed on the screen stating, ‘You removed a message’.

In April this year, Facebook had deleted the messages of CEO Mark Zuckerberg from several recipients’ inboxes without prior intimation. This resulted in a surge in criticism from various users in terms of the transparency policy. In a bid to ease the growing tension, Facebook officially confirmed the introduction of ‘Unsend Message’ feature to the users in the future. Screenshots of the new feature’s imminent arrival went viral and the company finally decided to launch the feature in its Messenger.