How many times have you been in a situation where you’re shot off an email and then realised you shouldn’t have? Or perhaps you’ve sent an email to the wrong person. You’ve forgotten to attach the file you wanted to share. Or you’ve sent off a rant and then realised it shot off to your boss instead of to your ex! Resumes sent to wrong addresses, projects delivered to friends instead of colleagues and private conversations accidentally emailed… How many times have we all been there? Perhaps not always but then we’ve sure you’ve faced that panic atleast once where you’ve wanted to undo an email you accidentally sent but couldn’t. And then, had to face the brunt for it. Also Read - Latest Google Updates and Features: Search Giant Brings New Feature to GMail That Personalizes Your Inbox

[ALSO READ: Whatsapp copies Snapchat; gives drawing tool in camera, selfie flash for front-cam] Also Read - What Was The Reason Behind 45-minute Downtime For Gmail, YouTube, Other Google Services? Here it is

For all those using Gmail, there has since long been a feature in Google Labs where you could turn on the recall an email feature which essentially let you ‘unsend’ your email. It was a blessing. Google Labs were their experimental features that users could activate on their gmail accounts and were still being tried and tested. Although it was for years that Undo or Unsending emails was a part of Google’s Beta, we are glad that they finally made it a full fledged setting in Gmail. it’s actually pretty convenient and can save a whole lot of virtual pain if enabled and used on time. Though the feature is not really perfect, it definitely is something better than nothing and atleast gives users one chance at rectifying their mistake. Also Read - Gmail, YouTube & Other Google Services Restored For Users After Massive Worldwide Outage

[ALSO READ: Samsung Galaxy Note 7: What to do if an Indian owns a Note 7 purchased abroad?]

There are some email systems that work at letting users stop the email in process and recall it. However, the receiver might get a notification that the email was sent. You can recall the email and after the recall, a message will go out to the receiver that the email has been recalled, asking them to ignore it. But that does not mean that the email has not been read. It can lead to embarrassing situations or just the fact that you sent an email which had errors and then had to be recalled can create much shame-facedness. it is worse in office settings where the users might sometimes send out mass emails or emails to multiple people in one go. Having everyone know that you made a mistake is really not the best thing to create an impression in office.

[ALSO READ: Apple to stop sale of iPhone 5, iPhone 5S, iPhone 6 and iPhone 6 Plus in India. ]

So then, it is quite a blessing that Google’s Gmail allows you to recall a sent mail, albeit for a few seconds. The moment you send the email, you’ve to be really quick in stopping it and do it in seconds or the email is gone for good and then, there’s no other recall option. So then, if you realise within a few seconds that your forgot to attach that crucial file or that you misspelled your boss’ name, you’re good or else, bear their wrath. The feature is not auto turned on in Gmail once you create an account and you will have to go to settings to enable it. but it’s not really a tedious process and actually quite simple. Since Gmail made it an official part and no longer is it in Beta, it has become even more simple and easy to activate and to relieve your mind of all the hassles and worries. So then, how do you go about it? keeping it simple, here’s how:

[ALSO READ: This smartphone, Turing Monolith Chaconne, actually has 18GB RAM and 60MP camera! ]

1. Log into your Gmail account with your username and password. (Psst: It might be beneficial if you have activated your 2-step verification system)

2. Once your account loads, locate the Settings icon – the gear-like button on the top right corner of your Inbox.

3. Click the drop-down arrow next to the gear icon. A new menu will open. Choose Settings in the menu.

4. Open the General Tab in the new Menu (it should default open to the General Tab, but if it does not, change the tab to General) and slowly scroll down the Tab.

5. The 10th option from the top is the ‘Undo Send’ option. Tick the small ‘Enable Undo Send button next to the option.

6. Now comes the most important part – choosing for how long you can delay sending the message so you can undo the Send. You have multiple options from 5 seconds to 30 seconds. Choose what is the most convenient for you.

7. Once you’re done, scroll right to the bottom of the menu and choose ‘Save Changes’. Your changes will be saved.

Now that you have managed to save your changes and activate the feature, send out a quick test mail to a friend or family to check if the feature is working. Go to Compose and create a message. Send the message to whoever you wish to send it to. Once the message is sent, a text saying this should appear in your Inbox, just below the Search Tab. The text will say, “Your message has been sent. Undo. View Message.

Click on the Undo option and the message you sent will once again open in the Compose menu. You can now either save this message to Drafts or Delete it. But if you do not get the Undo option, just check the steps again and see if you missed anything.

Easy-peasy, isn’t it?