Hyderabad: Surabhi Vani Devi, Former Prime Minister P V Narasimha Rao’s daughter, who was the ruling TRS candidate, on Saturday won the election to Telangana Legislative Council from the Mahabubnagar-Rangareddy-Hyderabad Graduates’ constituency. S Vani Devi defeated her nearest BJP rival and sitting MLC N Ramachander Rao. She received the certificate of election from the Returning Officer on Saturday night, said official sources.Also Read - Arjun Singh, BJP Lok Sabha MP & Former West Bengal BJP Vice-President, Rejoins TMC

Elections were held to the Council from Mahabubnagar-Ranagreddy-Hyderabad and Warangal-Khammam- Nalgonda Graduates’ constituencies on March 14. In the Warangal-Khammam-Nalgonda seat, TRS nominee and sitting MLC Palla Rajeshwar Reddy continued his lead as the protracted process of counting of votes was still underway. Also Read - Kerala: LDF Wins 24 Of 42 Seats In Local Body By-Polls, UDF Bags 12

Counting of votes began on Wednesday and it continued till Saturday as jumbo-sized ballot papers were used in the poll in view of the large number of candidates and also because the voters exercised their franchise in a preferential method. The total number of voters in the two constituencies is over 10 lakh. Also Read - ‘BJP After All Our Mosques; The Kashmir Files Responsible For Violence In Valley’: Mehbooba Mufti

As many as 93 candidates were in the fray from Mahabubnagar-Rangareddy-Hyderabad constituency, while 71 nominees contested from the Warangal-Khammam-Nalgonda constituency. While the Mahabubnagar-Rangareddy-Hyderabad seat witnessed 67.26 per cent of polling, the voter turnout was 76.41 per cent in the Warangal-Khammam-Nalgonda constituency.

Having suffered setbacks in the Dubbak assembly constituency bypoll and Hyderabad civic polls late last year, the TRS made a determined bid to win the two seats, while the BJP sought to continue the momentum following its impressive performance in the Hyderabad civic polls.

The Mahabubnagar-Rangareddy-Hyderabad seat witnessed a close contest as G Chinna Reddy of Congress, TDP’s Telangana unit president L Ramana and former MLC K Nageshwar, a journalism professor and prominent analyst, were also in the fray.

(With inputs from PTI)