Indian Premier League

Indian Premier League
Indian Premier League (IPL) is a professional T20 cricket league in India and it is contested every year in the month of April-May. The league is founded by Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and Lalit Modi was the first chairman of the IPL when it started in 2007. As of 2016, the title sponsor of IPL is Vivo Electronics and the league is officially known as Vivo Indian Premier League. IPL is the first sporting event in the world to be broadcasted live on YouTube. IPL is also the most popular as well as most attended cricket league and it ranks 6th among all sports league in the world. In 2015, the brand value of IPL was estimated to be US$4.5 billion and according to BCCI, 2015 season of IPL contributed 11.5 billion to the Indian economy GDP. Sunrisers Hyderabad won the Vivo IPL 2016.After India won the Twenty 20 world cup in 2007, the T20 format became very popular in India. At the same time, Indian Cricket League (ICL) was founded and it received funding from Zee Entertainment Enterprises. ICL was not recognized by BCCI or ICC and BCCI wasnt pleased to see its members joining ICL that was considered as a rebel against BCCI. BCCI then increased the price money in its own domestic cricket tournaments and also imposed a ban on players joining ICL. BCCI then asked Lalit Modi, a businessman and cricket executive to start a new Twenty20 League. Lalit Modi followed the format similar to the English Premier League and National Basketball League (NBA) and Indian Premier League was formed. The IPL worked n the American style of franchise-system and it hired and transferred players. The franchises were put on auction and the highest bidder won the rights to own the team representing each city. The total base price of franchises cost around $400 million and the cities upon which the teams were based included Bangalore, Chennai, Delhi, Hyderabad, Jaipur, Kolkata, Mohali (Punjab) and Mumbai and the first IPL season began in April 2008. The first edition had eight teams comprising of a minimum 16 players per team. The tournament lasted for 44 days and involved 59 matches. Popular personalities like Shah Rukh Khan, Preity Zinta, Shilpa Shetty, Mukesh Ambani Vijay Mallya were the co-owners of these teams. In 2010, BCCI announced the addition of two more teams named Kochi Tuskers Kerala and Pune Warriors India in the IPL tournament. However in 2011, Kochi Tuskers Kerala was terminated for breaching with BCCIs terms and conditions. In 2012, Deccan Chargers were terminated from the IPL as the team would not find any owners. However, a month later in an auction Sun TV purchased Hyderabad team and named it Sunrisers Hyderabad. In 2015, after the match fixing scandal, Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals were terminated from IPL. Following an auction, Rising Pune Supergiants and Gujrat Lions became the newest teams in the tournament. There have been total 13 teams that have competed in 9 IPL seasons so far and six teams have won the title at least once. Chennai Super Kings, Kolkata Knight Riders and Mumbai Indians have won the title twice whereas Deccan Chargers, Sunrisers Hyderabad and Rajasthan Royals have won the title once. The 2016 season of IPL offered a total prize of Rs 40 crore with the winning team getting Rs 15 crore, the runner up getting 10 crore and the third and fourth spot teams getting 7.5 crore each. IPL had made it mandatory for the team to share half of its prize money with its players. Being the most popular cricket league, IPL also has most of the controversies in the world of cricket. One of the earliest controversies of IPL was sacking of Lalit Modi. Former IPL chairman Lalit Modi was sacked in 2010 after allegations offraud and mismanagement of funds came to the light. Modi was officially barred from participating in the affairs of the Board, the IPL or any other committee of the BCCI. Modi flew from the country and now lives in London. In 2012, Royal Challengers Bangalore player Luke Pomersbach was accused by US citizen Zohal Hmid for molesting her. Although after the controversy, she dropped the charges against him. On May 2012, a news channel aired a sting operation which accused 5 players involved in spot fixing. After the news, IPL president Rajiv Shukla suspended the 5 players. In 2013, 3 players of Rajasthan Royals were arrested by Delhi police on the charges of spot fixing. All the three players were suspended by BCCI until the inquiry case is completed by police. Gurunath Maiyappan, a top official of Chennai Super Kings and son in law of BCCI President N Srinivasan was arrested on 24th May 2013 by Mumbai Crime Branch in connection with illegal betting. Two players of the Pune Warriors were detained for allegedly consuming drugs at a rave party in Mumbai in 2012 a brawl between Shah Rukh Khan and a security personnel at Wankhede stadium, Mumbai gained controversies. Shahrukh was alleged to hurl abuse at security staff. Shah Rukh was then banned from entering the Wankhede stadium.
Read More
Read Less

Indian Premier League News

By clicking “Accept All Cookies”, you agree to the storing of cookies on your device to enhance site navigation, analyze site usage, and assist in our marketing efforts Cookies Policy.