Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU) was established in the year 1969. It was set up with the purpose of promoting the work of research at post -graduate level. JNU is located in New Delhi and is spread over 1000 acres. JNU was established by Smt. Indira Gandhi and was named after Pt. Jawaharlal Nehru. The first Vice-Chancellor of JNU was G. Parthasarathy. It is one of the top universities in the nation. JNU ranks third according to the National Institutional Ranking Framework. Several Centres in the Schools of JNU include; School of Arts & Aesthetics, School of Biotechnology, School of Computational and Integrative Sciences, School of Computer and Systems Sciences, School of Environmental Sciences, School of International Studies, School of Language Literature and Culture Studies, School of Life Sciences, School of Physical Sciences, School of Social Sciences, Centre for the Study of Law and Governance, Special Centre for Molecular Medicine, Special Centre for Nanoscience, Special Centre for Sanskrit Studies. The present Chancellor of the university is Prof. K. Kasturirangan and Vice-Chancellor is Prof. M. Jagadesh Kumar. Jawaharlal Nehru University is the UGC recognized university.JNU has granted recognition and accreditation to various Defence Institutions, IAS Administration and Civil Services, as well as Research and Development Institutions. The Defence Institutions include; Army Cadet College, Dehradun, College of Military Engineering, Pune, Military College of Electronics and Mechanical Engineering, Secunderabad, Military College of Telecommunication Engineering, Mhow, National Defence Academy, Pune and Naval College of Engineering, Lonavala. IAS Administration and Civil Services include Lal Bahadur Shastri National Academy of Administration (LBSNAA), Mussoorie. Research and Development Institutions include; Central Drug Research Institute (CDRI), Lucknow, Centre for Cellular and Molecular Biology (CCMB), Hyderabad, Inter-University Accelerator Centre (IUAC), New Delhi, Institute of Microbial Technology (IMT), Chandigarh, Central Institute of Medicinal-and Aromatic Plants (CIMAP), Lucknow, Raman Research Institute (RRI), Bangalore, National Institute of Immunology (NII), New Delhi, National Institute of Plant Genome Research (NIPGR), New Delhi, International Centre for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology (ICGEB), New Delhi, Centre for Development Studies (CDS), Thiruvananthapuram, Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics (IUCAA), Pune and Translational Health Science and Technology Institute (THSTI), Gurgaon. In the year 2016, JNU was ranked as the third best university inIndia in the first Indian government-backed rankings of higher education by Ministry of Human Resource Development, Delhi. The Jawaharlal Nehru University ranked 1,177th in the world in the study conducted by METU Informatics Institute's 2015-2016 "University Ranking by Academic Performance". As per the 2016 QS World University Rankings, the Jawaharlal Nehru University has the 168th best Arts & Humanities faculty in the world and the 314th best Social Sciences and Management faculty. The University conducts entrance examination for admission to various courses and programmes. The examination is conducted at various centers across the nation in the third week of May. The time duration of one question paper is three hours. The Entrance Examination is conducted for four days with two three hour sessions on each day. The notable faculty of Jawaharlal Nehru University include; Abhijit Sen (Member of Planning Commission of India), Amitabh Mattoo (Director of Australia India Institute and Professor of International relations, University of Melbourne), B. S. Chimni, (Former Vice -Chancellor of National University of Juridical Sciences, Kolkata), Baburam Bhattarai (36th Prime Minister of Republic of Nepal), Bipan Chandra (Chairman of National Book Trust, New Delhi), Devendra Choubey (Noted Hindi Writer and President of Alumni Association of JNU), Jayati Ghosh, (Member of National Knowledge Commission, India), K. N. Panikkar (Vice -Chancellor of Sree Sankaracharya Sanskrit University, Kalady, Kerala), Kanti Bajpai (Former Professor of International Relations, Wolfson College, Oxford), Lalit Mansingh (Former Ambassador to the United States), Madhav Sadashiv Gore (Social scientist, writer, Padma Bhushan awardee and former vice-chancellor), etc.
Read More
Read Less

JNU News

By clicking “Accept All Cookies”, you agree to the storing of cookies on your device to enhance site navigation, analyze site usage, and assist in our marketing efforts Cookies Policy.