Panama Papers

Panama Papers
Panama Papers refers to a leaked set of 11.5 million confidential documents consisting of records of the fourth biggest overseas law firm, Mossack Fonseca. The leaked documents contain detailed information about 2,14,000 offshore companies allegedly owned by wealthy influential people from around the world, and used by them as fronts to hide their money from public scrutiny. The papers identify current government leaders from five countries - Argentina, Iceland, Saudi Arabia, Ukraine, and the United Arab Emirates - as well as government officials, close relatives, and close associates of various heads of government of more than forty other countries, including Brazil, China, Peru, France, India, Malaysia, Mexico, Pakistan, Romania,Russia, South Africa, Spain, Syria, and the United Kingdom. The documents were first made public to the German newspaper Sddeutsche Zeitung based in Munich, by an anonymous whistle blower using the pseudonym 'John Doe', and was later distributed to various media channels and publishing houses all over the world. Iceland's prime minister Sigmundur Gunnlaugsson resigned after the names of wife and other close relatives was revealed in the list.
Read More
Read Less

Panama Papers News

By clicking “Accept All Cookies”, you agree to the storing of cookies on your device to enhance site navigation, analyze site usage, and assist in our marketing efforts Cookies Policy.