Delhi Metro’s Pink Line is going to get its long-awaited extension early next month. The 17.8km section of the Pink Line on the Shiv Vihar-Trilokpuri section has been given a go-ahead and will be operational early next month, mostly around Diwali.

With the extension in place the Delhi Metro network will have provided access to every major railway station in the city, namely New Delhi Railway Station, Anand Vihar and Hazrat Nizamuddin Railway Station. The Sarai Kale Khan Metro Station will also connect three corridors: Meerut, Panipat and Alwar with the national capital. The new stations that will be connected with the Metro include Vinoba Puri, Ashram, Hazrat Nizamuddin, Mayur Vihar 1, and Mayur Vihar Pocket 1.

The metro’s extension to Mayur Vihar Pocket-1, will connect people of East Delhi with South Delhi and the commute can be completed in an unbelievable 15 minutes.

The Pink Line will now have 15 new stations (in addition to the 19 existing stations) : Trilokpuri Sanjay Lake, East Vinod Nagar, Mayur Vihar II, Mandwali, West Vinod Nagar, IP Extension, Anand Vihar ISBT, Karkardooma, Karkardooma Court, Krishna Nagar, East Azad Nagar, Welcome, Jaffrabad, Maujpur-Babarpur, Gokulpuri, Johri Enclave and Shiv Vihar.

This is going to help the northeast parts of Delhi like Gokulpuri and Johri Enclave be much more accessible and will also ease traffic on Delhi’s Ring Road. The highlight of Shiv Vihar-Trilokpuri metro line though is the three interchange stations. The Anand Vihar and Karkardooma stations connect to the Blue Line and the Welcome station connects with the Red Line. With the inclusion of this extension, the total length of the Delhi metro network will cover 314 km.

Seems like the it’ll be even easier travelling now in Delhi courtesy the effort of Delhi Metro.