mahashivratri-interesting-facts

India is the birthplace of four major religions of the world. Majority of Indians follow Hinduism and as such, follow a number of auspicious days as per the Hindu calendar. Most of these auspicious days lead to festivals or prayer rituals and therefore, travelers should be aware of these days. (ALSO SEE Best Places to Visit in February 2018 in India) So, here is a list of auspicious days in the Hindu calendar for February 2018.



February 01, Thursday: Phalguna Begins *North

February 03, Saturday: Sankashti Chaturthi



February 06, Tuesday: Yashoda Jayanti

February 07, Wednesday: Shabari Jayanti, Kalashtami

February 08, Thursday: Janaki Jayanti

February 10, Saturday: Maharishi Dayanand Saraswati Jayanti

February 11, Sunday: Vijaya Ekadashi

February 13, Tuesday: Pradosh Vrat, Maha Shivaratri, Kumbha Sankranti

February 15, Thursday: Phalguna Amavasya, Darsha Amavasya, Surya Grahan

February 16, Friday: Surya Grahan *Anshika

February 17, Saturday: Chandra Darshan, Phulera Dooj, Ramakrishna Jayanti

February 19, Monday: Vinayaka Chaturthi

February 21, Wednesday: Skanda Sashti

February 22, Thursday: Ashtahnika Vidhan Begins

February 23, Friday: Masik Durgashtami

February 24, Saturday: Rohini Vrat

February 26, Monday: Amalaki Ekadashi

February 27, Tuesday: Narasimha Dwadashi, Pradosh Vrat

While most of these days will not affect your travel plans, days like Maha Shivratri are perfect to witness Hindu customs and traditions at their very best. A number of places across India like Haridwar, Varanasi, Rameswaram and even Goa celebrate Hindu festivals like Maha Shivratri with great zest. So, keep this calendar handy while travelling across places known for their Hindu religious significance.