Top Recommended Stories

Bhadohi: Can Samajwadi Party Wrest Control From BJP?

Uttar Pradesh Assembly Election: Bhadohi Assembly constituency will go to the polls on the seventh and final phase of Uttar Pradesh Election on March 7.

Updated: February 6, 2022 7:44 PM IST

By News Desk | Edited by Snigdha Choudhury

Bhadohi: Can Samajwadi Party Wrest Control From BJP?
The voting for Bhadohi Assembly constituency will take place on March 7.

Uttar Pradesh Assembly Election: Bhadohi Assembly constituency will go to the polls on the seventh and final phase of Uttar Pradesh Election on March 7. The result for the Uttar Pradesh Assembly Election will be declared on March 10. Ravindra Nath Tripathi of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is the sitting MLA from the Bhadohi Assembly seat. Tripathi had won the seat by a narrow margin of 1,105 votes by defeating Samajwadi Party’s Zahid Beg in 2017 Uttar Pradesh Election.

Bhadohi Braces For Tough Battle Between BJP-SP

This time, the Akhilesh Yadav-led Samajwadi Party had retained Zahid Beg while hoping to spell magic in the upcoming Uttar Pradesh polls. Other parties are yet to announce candidates for the Bhadohi seat. In the 2012 Uttar Prades Election, Samajwadi Party’s Zahid Beg had won the Bhadohi Assembly seat by a margin of 16,241 votes. Zahid Beg had received 78,698 votes to win the seat by defeating Ravindra Nath Tripathi, who had then contested on  Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) ticket, received 62,457 votes.

You may like to read

The BJP had won the Bhadohi seat three times while Samajwadi Party and Bahujan Samaj Party had each won twice since the 1977 Assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh. Congress has not won Bhadohi seat since 1980. We hope to see another close contest in the Bhadohi Assembly constituency if BJP fields its sitting MLA Ravindra Nath Tripathi in the seat.

Bhadohi: A look at key figures

YearA C No.Constituency NameCategoryWinnerGenderPartyVotesRunner UpGenderPartyVotes
2017392BhadohiGENRavindra Nath TripathiMBJP79519Zahid BegMSP78414
2012392BhadohiGENJahid BegMSP78698Ravindranath TripathiMBSP62457
2009By PollsBhadohi(SC)MadhubalaFSP60507Amar S. SarojMBSP55487
2007233Bhadohi(SC)Archana SarojFBSP47555Deena Nath BhashkarMSP41225
2002233Bhadohi(SC)Deenanath BhaskarMSP52427Uma ShankerMBSP34609
1996249Bhadohi(SC)Purnmasi PankajMBJP49890Dinanath BhaskarMSP49099
1993249Bhadohi(SC)Mewa Lal BagiMBSP58981Puranmasi PankajMBJP41730
1991249Bhadohi(SC)Puranmasi PankajMBJP29016Mool ChandMJD26910
1989249Bhadohi(SC)Mool ChandMJD35621Banwari RamMINC19617
1985249Bhadohi(SC)MulchandMLKD24076Banvari RamMINC19550
1980249Bhadohi(SC)Banwari RamMINC(I)16257Mithai LalMJNP(SC)12332
1977249Bhadohi(SC)Mithai LalMJNP23239MoolchandMINC22871
1974249Bhadohi(SC)Ram NihorMBKD20827MurlidharMBJS15023
1969254Bhadohi(SC)Ram NihorMBKD18088HarigainMINC17857
1962258BhadohiGENBanshidhar PandeyMINC16190Ramdeo Prasad AmbashMJS10570


Bhadohi Assembly constituency in Purvanchal – Its significance

Situated in Sant Ravidas Nagar district, the Bhadohi Assembly constituency lies in the Purvanchal region of Uttar Pradesh. It comes under the Bhadohi Lok Sabha constituency which came into existence following delimitation in 2008. According to the data with the Election Commission of India, Bhadohi has 3,80,739 registered voters including 2,11,810 male and 1,68,897 female voters and 32 voters in the ‘others’ category.

Zee Opinion Poll For Uttar Pradesh’s Purvanchal region

The voting for the 403-member Uttar Pradesh Assembly will take place in seven phases from February 10 to March 7. The major political parties in the fray are the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Samajwadi Party (SP), Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), Indian National Congress (INC) and debutant Aam Aadmi Party (AAP). Ahead of the polling, Zee News teamed up with DesignBoxed to conduct the country’s biggest Opinion Poll to understand the pulse of the voters in Uttar Pradesh. In this poll, the state of Uttar Pradesh was divided into six regions — Purvanchal, Awadh, Bundelkhand, Western UP, Central UP and Rohilkhand. As per the Zee Opinion Poll, the BJP is projected to dominate in the Purvanchal region with 39 per cent vote share while the Samajwadi Party is likely to get 36 per cent, Bahujan Samaj Party is predicted to get 11 per cent and Congress only 8 per cent. The Purvanchal region has 17 districts such as Azamgarh, Ballia, Basti, Chandauli, Deoria, Ghazipur, Gorakhpur, Jaunpur, Kushinagar, Maharajganj, Mau, Mirzapur, Sant Kabir Nagar, Sant Ravidas Nagar-Bhadohi, Siddharth Nagar, Sonbhadra and Varanasi.

For breaking news and live news updates, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram. Read more on Latest News News on

By clicking “Accept All Cookies”, you agree to the storing of cookies on your device to enhance site navigation, analyze site usage, and assist in our marketing efforts Cookies Policy.