New Delhi: Months before crucial Assembly polls in the state, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath will expand his Cabinet this evening, news agency ANI reported quoting sources. Reports claimed that six to seven new ministers are likely to be inducted into the state cabinet at 6 PM today.Also Read - Uttar Pradesh Cabinet Expansion 2021: CM Yogi Allocates Portfolios to New Ministers | Who Gets What, Check Full List Here

At present, there are 53 ministers —23 cabinet, 9 ministers of state (independent charge) and 21 ministers of state in the Yogi cabinet. It can add seven more as per the constitutional limit. The long-overdue expansion comes at a time when barely four months are left for elections to the Uttar Pradesh assembly. Also Read - UP Cabinet Expansion: CM Yogi Adityanath Expands His Team Ahead of Assembly Polls, Inducts Jitin Prasada, 6 Others

Also Read - 'Unless I Can be Teleported': Abhijit Mukherjee, Late President Pranab Mukherjee's Son, on Joining TMC

Former Congress leader Jitin Prasada, Sanjay Nishad of the Nishad party (an ally of BJP), Dinesh Khatik, Krishna Paswan, Sangeeta Bind, Chhatrapal Gangwar and Palturam might take oath as ministers in Yogi Adityanath’s cabinet.

The names were finalised last month at a meeting chaired by Union Home Minister Amit Shah at his residence. Senior party leaders BJP Chief JP Nadda, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and senior party functionaries had attended the meeting that lasted for 3.5-hour.

After Gujarat, Karnataka and Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh will be the fourth BJP-ruled state where a major rejig is happening. Earlier this month, Bhupendra Patel was sworn in as Gujarat’s new chief minister replacing Vijay Rupani. The entire Gujarat cabinet was changed subsequently.

In Karnataka, Basavaraj Bommai replaced BS Yediyurappa as the Chief Minister. In Uttarakhand, the BJP had changed its CM three times. After Trivendra Singh Rawat resigned as CM, Tirath Singh Rawat had taken the charge. Later, he was replaced by Pushkar Singh Dhami.