Top Recommended Stories

Hathras: Is BJP On Strong Ground To Retain Power In UP’s Most Discussed Seat Amid ‘Missing’ BSP?

Hathras is an assembly constituency in Uttar Pradesh. In 2017, Hari Shankar Mahor of Bharatiya Janata Party won the seat by defeating Braj Mohan Rahi from Bahujan Samaj Party with a margin of 70,661 votes.

Updated: February 4, 2022 3:45 PM IST

By News Desk | Edited by Analiza Pathak

Hatras Assembly Constituency Watch
Hatras Assembly Constituency Watch

Hathras Assembly Constituency: Hathras is an assembly constituency in Uttar Pradesh. Hathras has three assembly constituencies in the district. Two of them were won by Bharatiya Janata Party and one by Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) candidate Ramveer Upadhyay in the 2017 elections. Hathras comes under Hathras district of Uttar Pradesh State. In 2017, Hari Shankar Mahor of Bharatiya Janata Party won the seat by defeating Braj Mohan Rahi from Bahujan Samaj Party with a margin of 70,661 votes.

Also Read:

The BJP has fielded a woman candidate from the seat. Anjula Mahaur, who is fighting her first Assembly election is a dalit herself. Mahaur is the former Mayor of Agra, co-incharge of the women’s morcha of UP BJP and has been in-charge of Hathras district earlier. The Congress had earlier offered the Hathras ticket to 19-year-old Hathras victim’s family, which they later turned down. As of now the grand old party has not fielded anyone from the seat.

You may like to read

The Battleground: A one-on-one fight

As the battle for Uttar Pradesh gets intense, the Samajwadi Party and the incumbent BJP government are leaving no stone unturned in reaching out to the masses to retain power in the seat. It is also seen that the lack of participation on the ground by BSP and Congress has diverted all the attention towards the SP campaign, which according to many is perceived as the sole contender against the BJP.

Hathras Key Candidates: 

BJP Candidate: Anjula Mahor

SP Candidate: Brij Mohan

BSP Candidate: Sanjiv Kumar Kaka

Congress Candidate: Not Known

Hathras Impt Dates:

Date of Polling: Sunday, 20 February 2022

Date of Counting: Thursday, 10 March 2022

Hathras at a glance:

For the last one year, Hathras district of Uttar Pradesh has been the center of discussion all over the country. Here in September 2020, a case of gang-rape with a Dalit girl came to light. The incident grabbed a lot of attention. Seeing this issue dominated the politics of the country. Even today, the leaders of opposition parties target the Yogi government over the Hathras incident.

  • Area: 1800.1q. Km.
  • Population: 15,64,708
  • Language: Hindi
  • Village: 683
  • Male: 8,36,127
  • Female: 7,28,581


Candidate’s NamePartyLevelVotesVote Rate %Margin
Hari Shankar MahorBJPWinner133,84056.10%70,661
Braj Mohan RahiBSPRunner Up63,17926.48%
Rajesh Raj JeevanINC3rd27,30111.44%
Nekse LalMD4th5,3492.24%
Genda Lal ChaudharyRLD5th3,6161.52%
None Of The AboveNOTA6th1,2560.53%
Har Swroop MahaurIND8th7120.30%
Chataule Munshiram NekramIND9th5110.21%
Vijendra SinghIND10th5010.21%
Netrapal SinghSJP (CH)13th3100.13%
Sahab SinghASP14th2570.11%

UP Elections 2022

For the 403-member Uttar Pradesh Assembly, the elections will take place in seven phases from February 10 to March 7. Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Samajwadi Party (SP), Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), Indian National Congress, and debutant Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) are the dominant players in the state.

Phase-wise polling dates

  • 1st Phase: February 10
  • 2nd Phase: February 14
  • 3rd Phase: February 20
  • 4th Phase: February 23
  • 5th Phase: February 27
  • 6th Phase: March 3
  • 7th Phase: March 7

For breaking news and live news updates, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram. Read more on Latest News News on

Published Date: February 4, 2022 3:43 PM IST

Updated Date: February 4, 2022 3:45 PM IST