After a four-day-long extended weekend, banks in many states will open on May 2. Banks are shut since April 28 in several states as banks across the country are closed on the second and fourth Saturday every month. April 28 was the fourth Saturday. In a bid to curb cash crunch, banks have alerted the cash feeding agencies to fill the ATMs with enough currency. Also Read - 'Like Lord Buddha's Teachings, India Must Stay Resolved in COVID-19 Battle,' Says PM Modi in Address to Nation

With April 29 being a Sunday, banks were shut on that day. And, while Buddha Purnima is on April 30 this year, May 1 marks the Maharashtra Diwas as well as Labour Day holiday in many states. These states will have their banks open on May 2. As per reports, in some states banks will remain shut for 4 days, while in certain states, banks will remain shut for 3 days. Therefore, banks in some states will remain shut from Saturday through Tuesday. Customers are advised to check with their respective bank to confirm whether it is open on any of these days (till May 1, 2018). Also Read - Buddha Purnima: PM Modi to Deliver Address in Honour of COVID-19 Victims And Frontline Warriors Today

On Buddha Purnima, April 30, banks in Delhi, Haryana, Jammu and Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, Maharashtra and West Bengal will be shut. While, on Labour Day, May 1, banks in Andhra Pradesh, Goa, Karnataka, Kerala, Manipur, Tamil Nadu, Telangana, West Bengal and Maharashtra (Maharashtra Day) will have a holiday. Also Read - Buddha Purnima 2020: Best Messages, Quotes, Facebook Status, WhatsApp Wishes, GIF to Mark Gautama Buddha’s Birth Anniversary

Apart from the above mentioned states, banks might open in certain states. West Bengal and Maharashtra are two states, where banks will be shut on Monday as well as on Tuesday. In West Bengal, April 30 and May 1 will be holidays because of Buddha Purnima (Monday) and May Day (Tuesday). In Maharashtra (Tuesday), April 30 and May 1 will have banks shut because of  Buddha Purnima (Monday) and Maharashtra Day (Tuesday).

Gujarat, Meghalaya, Odisha, and Punjab will have no holidays on Buddha Purnima as well as Labour Day. Hence, these four states will have their banks open on these days.