The much-awaited Kerala Sahitya Akademi awards have been announced at Thrissur on Wednesday. For the overall contribution, Iyyankode Sreedharan, CR Omanakuttan, Lalitha Lenin, Jose Punnamparambil, PK Parakkadavu and Pooyappilli Thankappan were chosen. The awards carry a cash prize of Rs. 30,000, a citation, ponnada (shawl) and a plaque. Kerala Sahitya Akademi Award is given each year, since 1958, by the Kerala Sahitya Akademi (Kerala Literary Academy), to Malayalam writers for their outstanding books of literary merit. The awards comprise various categories. These categories include poetry, drama, novel, literary criticism, humour, translation, children’s literature, miscellaneous works and overall contribution. Also Read - Dubai-Based Indian Boy Reads 20 Books in Just One Hour, Sets New Record

Topselling Books of 2017: Karan Johar,  Raghuram Rajan’s Books Feature on Google Play India’s Most Downloaded List

Topselling Books of 2017: Karan Johar, Raghuram Rajan’s Books Feature on Google Play India’s Most Downloaded List

The recipients of this prestigious award have often been in their news not just for their works, but also for setting an example with their actions. Recently, there were reports of writer K.P. Ramanunni, who donated his Sahitya Akademi Award cash prize to the mother of Junaid, who was lynched by alleged Hindu right-wing activists while he was travelling by a train from Delhi to Haryana, as a “symbolic and moral gesture.” Another Malayalam writer, K Panoor, was a recipient of Kerala Sahitya Akademi award in 2006. He passed away in February this year. Panoor was well-known for his work ‘Keralathile Africa’, in which he portrayed the ill-fated, slavish lives of Kerala tribals. Also Read - Kolkata Launches its First Boat Library for Children with Over 500 Books

Here is the list of award winners that have been announced today:

1. Savithri Rajeevan (Ammaye Kulippikkumbol- poem) Also Read - Sadhguru’s Next Book ‘Karma’ to Be Launched in 2021

2. TD Ramakrishnan (Sugandhi Enna Aandal Devanayaki- Novel)

3. S Hareesh (Adam- short story)

4. Dr Samkutty Pattamkari (Lalla- Drama)

5. S Sudheesh (Ashan kavitha: Sthree Purusha Samavakyangalile Kalapam)

6. Fr. VP Joseph Valiyaveettil (Chavittunadaka Vijnanakosham- Vaijnanika Sahithyam)

7. Dr Chanthuvila Murali (AKG: Oru Samagrajeevitham)

8. Dr Harikrishnan (Nilevazhikal- travel writing)

9. CM Rajan(pranayavum Mooladhanavum- translation)

10. KT Baburaj (Samoohya Padham- children’s literature)

10. Murali Thummarukudy (Chila Nattukaryangal- satire)

The above-mentioned awards carry a purse of Rs 25,000, a citation and a plaque. In addition, Dr PA Aboobacker (Vadakkan Malayalam- IC Chacko award), Ravi Menon (Poornendumukhi- CB Kumar award), Dr KP Sreedevi (Nirukhtamenna Vedangam- KR Namboothiri award), Dr P Soman (Kavithayude Kavutheendal- Kuttippuzha award), Arya Gopi (Avasanathe Manushyan- Kanakashree Award), Rasmi Benoy (Thirike Nee Varumbol- Kanakashree award), Sunil Upasana (Kakkadinte Puravrutham- Geetha Hiranyan award), Ravichandran C (Budhane Erinja Kalu- GN Pillai Award) and Sister Anu David ( Thunchan Memorial essay competition ) have all received endowment awards.