Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) chief Narayanaswami Srinivasan, who has been suspended by the Supreme Court of India after being named in the Indian Premier League (IPL) spot-fixing investigation, has been appointed the new chairman of the International Cricket Council (ICC) on Thursday, June 26.  His appointment was confirmed on the last day of the two-day ICC annual conference in Melbourne and he described it as an honour. Also Read - S Sreesanth's IPL Spot-fixing Ban Ends, Aims to Play Cricket 5-7 Years For 'Any Team'

Bangladesh’s Mustafa Kamal was also made the 11th president of the ICC. Also Read - ICC T20I Rankings: Dawid Malan Displaces Babar Azam to Become Top-Ranked Batsman

Srinivasan is among 13 people named in the report of a court-conducted inquiry into spot-fixing in the IPL. Justice Mukul Mudgal headed the committee that inquired into corrupt practices in the sixth edition of the IPL last year. Also Read - Suresh Raina on CSK Owner N Srinivasan: A Father Can Scold His Son

Srinivasan has been suspended by the Indian Supreme Court as president of the BCCI and senior board vice-president Shivlal Yadav is looking after day-to-day cricket administration while India’s legendary batsman Sunil Gavaskar was made in charge of the IPL.

Under constitutional changes approved earlier this year, Cricket Australia chairman Wally Edwards will head the new ICC executive committee while England’s Giles Clarke will chair the finance and commercial affairs committee.

Watch video: Tainted BCCI chief N Srinivasan is ICC’s first chairman!