Kolkata: Reactions have started pouring in after the West Bengal Assembly Election Result showed a massive lead for the Trinamool Congress against the BJP. The Mamata Banerjee-led TMC was ahead in 200 plus seats at the time of writing of this report as the BJP, which saw a mass exodus from TMC to its camp in the run-up to the elections, being limited to less than 100. Though these are trends but has triggered state-wise celebrations in party followers in Bengal. Outside of Bengal, the Shiv Sena called Mamata Banerjee the “The Bengal Tigress” as Opposition leaders like Sharad Pawar and Arvind Kejriwal congratulating the leader. There are 294 seats in the Bengal assembly. After the TMC win in Bengal, its chief strategist Prashant Kishor said, “The role of Election Commission needs to be seen. It made everyone to suffer for 45 days just because you wanted to give the BJP an extra edge.” He also claimed that the BJP would not have gained so many seats had it not been for the prolonged elections. “The way Election Commission is running the elections is completely partial. They gave them [BJP] a free a hand,” Kishor told NDTV.Also Read - Remembering Atal Bihari Vajpayee: 10 Profound Quotes By This Great Statesman

West Bengal Assembly Elections 2021 Results: BIG Takeaway So Far

  1. Dilip Ghosh, the BJP West Bengal says the fight is still on as the counting is very slow and there are lots of seats where the difference is very small. “In many seats it is possible we will still win as the difference is very small,” Ghosh told NDTV.
  2. Mamata Banerjee is likely to return as the Chief Minister for the third consecutive term with the TMC leading in over 200 plus seats, while the BJP’s lead has slipped to 88 seats, as per early trends.
  3. People of Bengal have given a befitting reply to repeated attacks on CM Mamata Banerjee: TMC leader Partha Chatterjee
  4. Congratulations Tigress of Bengal, Sanjay Raut on Twitter.
Also Read - Viral Video: Mamata Banerjee Shakes a Leg With Folk Artists to Celebrate Independence Day | Watch

Also Read - Maharashtra cabinet: CM Eknath Shinde Keeps Urban Development; Devendra Fadnavis Gets Home, Finance

Live Updates

  • 8:03 PM IST

    Updates to this LIVE Blog have been closed. Click Here for Winners List

  • 7:40 PM IST

  • 6:37 PM IST

  • 6:11 PM IST

    As West Bengal poll results are being declared, TMC goons
    are attacking BJP offices & workers. BJP office in Arambagh was set on fire
    by TMC goons. TMC workers attacked BJP workers in Belaghat, similar incidents
    happened in Shivpur, Durgapur, Uttar Bardhaman: BJP’s Sambit Patra

  • 5:37 PM IST

    Malay Ghatak, Trinamool Congress candidate from Asansol North Assembly constituency, won by 21,110 votes.

  • 5:35 PM IST

    Alipurduar assembly constituency, BJP candidate Sumon Kanjilal defeated his nearest rival Trinamool Congress candidate Sourav Chakraborty by 14,540 votes.

  • 5:35 PM IST

    Tollygunj : TMC ‘s Arup Biswas wins by 50,014 votes beats BJP’s Babul Supriyo

  • 5:17 PM IST

    Mamata Banerjee to hold press conference at 6 pm, appeals to
    supporters to follow Covid norms

  • 5:00 PM IST

  • 4:39 PM IST

    Mamata Banerjee wins Nandigram by 1200 votes