West Bengal Assembly Election 2021 Phase 8 Voting Live Updates: Over 35 constituencies in West Bengal are going to polls in the final phase of the 8-phased elections in the state today. Over 84 lakh eligible voters will decide the fate of 283 candidates in these assembly constituencies. As per updates from the Election Commission, the voting is being held at 11,860 polling stations spread over 11 assembly constituencies each in Murshidabad and Birbhum, six in Malda and seven in Kolkata. The voting will be held between 7 AM and 6.30 PM.Also Read - Bengal Records 75% Voter Turnout Amid Raving COVID-19 Crisis

The Election Commission said that a total of 84,77,728 voters — 43,55,835 male, 41,21,735 women and 158 of the third gender are eligible to vote in the eighth phase polls. While 11 candidates each have been fielded by TMC, BSP and BJP, the CPI(M) is contesting on four seats, Congress in three, AIFB in 2 and RSP (1). There are four Independent candidates in the fray as well. Notably, the focus in this phase will be on five assembly constituencies in Kolkata north – Beleghata, Jorsanko, Shyampukur, Maniktala, Kashipur-Belgachia.

Live Updates

  • 7:16 PM IST

    Voting has concluded for West Bengal polls and exit polls are out. Check the Live coverage here: West Bengal Exit Polls LIVE Updates

  • 6:30 PM IST

    Polling conducted peacefully today across 11,860 polling stations across 35 Assembly constituencies, in the last phase of Assembly elections in West Bengal. Voter turnout of 76.07 % was reported by 5 PM: Election Commission of India.

  • 6:20 PM IST

    Exit Poll Results for West Bengal Assembly Elections will be out by 7 pm

  • 6:13 PM IST

    76.07% voter turnout recorded till 5:30 pm in West Bengal Assembly polls 2021 Phase 8

  • 3:49 PM IST

    West Bengal elections phase 8 turnout: 68.46 per cent voter turnout recorded till 3 pm in 35 assembly constituencies where polling is underway in eighth and final phase.

  • 2:50 PM IST

    Long queues seen outside most polling booths since early morning, amid a surge in Covid-19 cases. The Election Commission maintained that all precautionary measures are in place.

  • 2:26 PM IST

  • 2:26 PM IST

    TMC supporters gherao car of BJP candidate Kalyan Chaubey in Maniktala, North Kolkata. He says, “Our polling agent was sitting inside when a 50-yr-old woman came to vote instead of a 31-yr-old woman. When the agent objected she was scolded. This is hooliganism of TMC.”

  • 1:56 PM IST

  • 1:56 PM IST

    Trinamool Congress writes to Election Commission of India regarding ‘inadequacies’ in its direction for counting of votes on May 2; says no provision has been made for submission of negative RT-PCR test by polling officers and CAPF personnel.