West Bengal Assembly Election 2021 Updates: Amid rising cases of coronavirus, a total of 43 seats spread across four districts in West Bengal are going to polls today, April 22, 2021, in phase six of the multi-phased election. The sixth phase of West Bengal Assembly Elections 2021 will witness over 1 crore voters exercising their franchise to decide the fate of 306 candidates. The 43 Assembly seats are spread across four districts such as Uttar Dinajpur, Nadia, North 24 Parganas, and Purba Bardhaman. The constituencies that are going to polls today include Chopra, Islampur, Goalpokhar, Chakulia     Karandighi, Hemtabad, Kaliaganj, Raiganj, Itahar, Karimpur, Tehatta, Palashipara , Kaliganj     Nakashipara, Chapra, Krishnanagar Uttar, Nabadwip, Krishnanagar Dakshin, Bongaon Uttar, Bongaon Dakshin, Gaighata, Bagda, Baduria, Habra, Ashokenagar, Amdanga, Bijpur, Naihati, Bhatpara, Jagatdal,  Noapara, Barrackpore, Khardaha, Dum Dum Uttar, Bhatar, Purbasthali Dakshin, Purbasthali Uttar, Katwa, Ketugram, Mangalkot, Ausgram, Galsi and Swarupnagar.Also Read - Arjun Singh, BJP Lok Sabha MP & Former West Bengal BJP Vice-President, Rejoins TMC

For the sixth phase of West Bengal Assembly Elections 2021, Trinamool Congress leader Ujjal Biswas has been fielded from Krishnanagar Dakshin and TMC’s Swapan Debnath is contesting from Purbasthali Dakshin. TMC candidate Chandrima Bhattacharya and CPI (M) leader Tanmoy Bhattacharya are fighting from Dumdum Uttar. BJP national vice president and former TMC heavyweight Mukul Roy is also contesting from Krishnanagar Uttar. Senior Congress leader Mohit Sengupta is fighting from the Raiganj Assembly constituency. Congress candidate Abdus Sattar contesting from Baduria. Former AITC minister Abdul Karim Chowdhary is in the fray from Islampur. TMC’s Pundrikaksha Saha is contesting from Nabadwip. CPI leader Srikumar Mukherjee is in fray from Itahar. Also Read - Qaidi No. 241383: From Waking Up At 5:30 AM To Working For 8 Hrs, How Life In Patiala Jail Looks For Navjot Sidhu

For the 6th phase of polls, both the TMC and the BJP have pitched hard to gain the confidence of Matuas, who make for a large chunk of the state’s Scheduled Caste population, in most of the 17 Assembly segments going to polls in this phase. Assembly polls have been held in 180 constituencies so far, and the remaining 114 seats are set to go to polls between 22 and 29 April. The counting of votes will happen on May 2. Stay tuned to this Live Blog for all the latest updates. Also Read - Impending Electoral Rout in Gujarat And Himachal: Prashant Kishor's Prediction For Congress

Live Updates

  • 9:58 PM IST

    The new norms banning bike rallies and public meetings
    beyond 500 persons have already kicked in from 7 pm today

  • 9:58 PM IST

    Election Commission orders curtains on road shows/pad
    yatras, cycle rallies; public meetings with up to 500 persons allowed with
    social distancing

  • 6:57 PM IST

    79.09% voter turnout recorded till 5 pm in the sixth phase
    of West Bengal Polls today.

  • 5:19 PM IST

    West Bengal records 70.42% voter turnout recorded till

  • 1:59 PM IST

    Clashes broke out between activists of the TMC and the BJP in Uttar Dinajpur’s Chopra area over allegations of heckling by agents of a polling booth.

  • 1:50 PM IST

  • 12:04 PM IST

    Voter turnout in Bengal till 11 AM – 37.27%

    Uttar Dinajpur – 40.97%
    Nadia – 38.11%
    North 24 Parganas – 32.88%
    Purba Bardhaman – 41.04%

  • 11:01 AM IST

  • 11:01 AM IST

    Drone being used for security surveillance in the area near booth number 131-132 in Amdanga, North 24 Paraganas.

  • 10:38 AM IST